A330 Myth in the Greek and Roman Worlds

Well I have a new Open University course looming – A330 Myth in the Greek and Roman Worlds.  It starts October 2010 and I am looking foward to it with a mixture of excitement and trepidation.  I know there will be some very good company, but the course itself is a bit of an unknown quantity – this is the first time it will run – and some of the content is going to be challenging for me to say the least.  I am not sure if I am more worried about philosophy or Buffy the Vampire Slayer … both are apparently going to feature.  So … I am going to start gathering material early and my Mythology resources page will grow as I progress through the course.  Hopefully all will become clear, or at least clearer :-).  Meanwhile, if you have any resources you think would be useful, do comment below or get in touch and I will add them here.

3 Responses

  1. I’m becoming worried about the ‘Buffy’ bit, too, Mair. There’s rather a lot about such as this, & ‘Dr Who’, ‘Torchwood’ &c on the Class. Dept.’s pages. ;-(
    I’m averse to fudging the interface (!) between our ancient Greek myths and modern ‘interpretations’ or rip-offs. To be fair, haven’t seen any of the TV stuff I’m complaining about, but suspect ‘B’, ‘DW’ or Torch-wotsit is all just hi-jacking, not even particularly intellectual, & written for for tweeners and post-teen kidults.
    I suppose, even if we dislike the B’fy & Co. elements, and say so or are critical, we’ll have a valid point of view?
    Just as long as tutor isn’t a fan!
    OTOH, philosophy will be AOK by me.
    2 months to go till materials arrive!
    BW,
    JANE

  2. I just linked here from the First Class forum, Mair and will come back when I’m not rushing out to pick up my mother!

    I’m planning on doing this course, but not just yet. Looking forward to it! I didn’t know about the Buffy and Dr Who element, but that’s fine by me! I’m a Buffy and Dr Who fan who’s 63 years old! My then teenage daughter got us all ‘into’ Buffy a couple of years ago!

  3. I too am starting this course and like Mair my sources pages are growing rapidly. Have to say was equally horrified when I saw the Buffy comment! Iliked the programme but like most tv I susspend thought and escape, now I have to deconstruct it…yelp. A sfor the philosophy well for me thats anone starter, but I’ll try and get my head around it. Look forward to the assorted compan y and support, I think we will all need it on this adventure.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

